Select State
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Hough and Jenneke to compete at World Indoor Championships

Hough and Jenneke to compete at World Indoor Championships

Author: David Tarbotton & Ron Bendall/Saturday, 24 February 2018/Categories: News

24 Feb 2018


Hough and Jenneke to compete at World Indoor Championships


NSW’s finest ever high hurdlers, Michelle Jenneke (SYU) and Nick Hough (SYU) will compete at the 17th IAAF World Indoor Championships to be held in Birmingham, Great Britain, next week.


The pair, who are the number two in Australian history in the 100m and 110m hurdles, will race over the shorter 60m hurdles in Birmingham.


For Hough, it will be his debut undercover, while Jenneke makes her second appearance at the championships.


What times can we expect from them indoors?

In 2016 Jenneke clocked 8.10 seconds to placed fourth in her heat. The time placed her second fastest Australian behind Sally Pearson who owns the national record of 7.73 seconds.


Interestingly the men’s national record, held by Victorian Kyle vander-Kuyp is the same as the women’s, 7.73 seconds. Fastest time by a NSW athlete is Winter Olympian (bobsleigh) Duncan Harvey’s 8.01 from 2003.


The schedule with Birmingham time (AEST time) are below:

(Sydney is 11 hours ahead of Birmingham time)


Day 2 Friday March 2:

18:05 (05:05 Sat)          Women 60m Hurdles – heat


Day 3 Saturday March 3

18:05    (05:05 Sun)       Women 60m Hurdles – semi-final

18:30    (05:30 Sun)       Men 60m Hurdles – heat

20:55    (07:55 Sun)       Women 60m Hurdles – final


Day 4 Sunday March 4

15:05    (02:05 Mon)      Men 60m Hurdles – semi-final

17:00    (04:00 Mon)      Men 60m Hurdles – final


Eurosport on Fox will broadcast the competition live. There are also replays.

Live coverage times (subject to change):

Day 1 Friday March 2




Day 2 Saturday March 3




Day 3 Sunday March 4



Day 4 Monday March 5



Three NSW athletes have won IAAF World Indoor Championships titles: Fabrice Lapierre long jump 2010, Melinda Gainsford-Taylor 200m 1995 and Kerry Saxby-Junna 3000m walk 1989.




David Tarbotton and Ron Bendall for Athletics NSW

Image: Michelle Jenneke (image courtesy of David Tarbotton)


Number of views (2295)/Comments (0)

E-News archives
E-news sign-up

Stay up to date with the latest news

* indicates required
News Archive