Select State
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
NSW Short Course XC moves to Wollongong

NSW Short Course XC moves to Wollongong

Author: David Tarbotton & Ron Bendall/Tuesday, 26 July 2016/Categories: News

27 July 2015


NSW Short Course XC moves to Wollongong


After seven years at Rydalmere the NSW Short Course is on the move south, to the purpose build cross country venue, managed by Kembla Joggers at Integral Energy Park, West Dapto.


Missing from the 102nd edition of the race will defending champions Scott Westcott (MQH) and Milly Clark (SYU), as they both will be in Florida, preparing for the Rio Olympic marathon.


The inaugural NSW state championship at West Dapto last year, was a major success, despite the heavy rain in the lead up that threatened the event proceeding.


We can expect a professionally run event by the Kembla Joggers club, led by President Neil Barnett and his event team including Roy Francis, Dave Higgins and Dave Barnett.




This is very intriguing and a close battle in 2016.


In the men’s competition just one point separates the top-3. Points are:

Harry Summers RBH – 34

Matt Cox UTN – 34

Courtney Carter RBH - 33


The women’s competition is also very open, with leading by six points Sydney University’s Rosie Weber. Points are:

Rosie Weber SYU – 26

Audrey Amiya-Hall RBH – 22

Rebecca Holmes AEA- 20

Kate Spencer RBH – 20

Milly Clark SYU – 20

Anna White SSR – 20



Bankstown Sports Club lead the Winter Club trophy for 2016, but Sydney Striders  are a close second, while Sutherland are in third.

Points are:

Bankstown – 1648 points

Sydney Striders – 1428

Sutherland - 753


View the full point scores.



Event: 102nd NSW Short Course Cross Country Championships

Date: Saturday 30 July

Venue: Integral Energy Park, West Dapto

Location: Integral Energy Recreation Park, Darkes Road, Brownsville, just 10 km south of Wollongong and 1km north of Dapto township. The venue can be easily accessed by exiting the Kanahooka Road exit from the F6 heading south or Dapto exit heading north at Yallah. Refer to the map for more details on how to get there.

Train station: The nearest train stations are at Dapto and Kembla Grange.


Click here for more information about entries, timetable, course map, age groups and much more.



More information about the course, including images, are available on the clubs impressive website



Now known as the Short Course Cross Country Championships, this race has had a diverse history, since the inaugural race was held on August 4, 1906. For the first 76 years, it was conducted over a longer distance than the primary NSW Cross Country Championships, now run over the universal distance of 12 km. Different event titles have included:

  • 10 mile track championships
  • 10 mile Team race
  • Second NSW Cross Country Championship

After 59 years of being conducted over 10 miles (16km), in the ‘70s the distance changed to 20km, then 15km and finally 16km. The major change for the event was in 1988 when the distance dropped to 8km and it was given its current title ‘NSW Short Course Cross Country’. This year the distance is 7.5km.

Since the inaugural women’s race in 1979, the distance has changed from 10km to 12km, then 6km and in 2014 to 5km.


The venue for the first men’s race was the Kensington Racecourse. The race was over 10 miles and much of the race was held on the road. It was an out and back course to the La Perouse Cemetery. Amazingly, the venues for the first 59 years, until 1970, were racecourses, those being: Randwick (22 occasions), Kensington (12), Victoria Park (12), Ascot (2), Gosford (2), Canterbury (5) and Rosebery (3). From 1971 the venues have included: Centennial Park, Macquarie Uni, Springwood, Auburn, The Crest, Narrabeen, Nowra, Galston and HMAS Nirimba.


The inaugural winner was H Morgan from the Marrickville Club who clocked 58:20 for victory. Second was J Hunter (Marrickville), 50 yards behind the winner in a time of 58:30, while third was Aberline (South Sydney) third, 300 yards behind second. The team event, each team comprising six runners, was won by East Sydney with 70 points, ahead of Marrickville Harriers (75 points) and Sydney Harriers. Other clubs competing were: Birchgrove Harriers, South Sydney, St George and Western Suburbs.


The first women’s race was held in July 1979, when Sue Muir (Sutherland) ran 37:01 to win the race over 10km at Auburn.  


Many of the greats of NSW distance running have claimed titles, including: Andrew Wood, Alleyn Gainsford, Jack Sheaves, Donald and George Campbell, John Plummer, Dave Power, Alan Lawrence, Bob Vagg, Tony Manning, John Farrington, Rob McDonald, Lawrie Whitty, Andrew Lloyd and Jamie Harrison. Women’s winners have included: Jenny Walker, Annette Dwyer, Michelle Dillon, Annette Ricardo and Michelle Dillon.


In 1949, after four consecutive wins by Donald Campbell (Botany), 21-year-old John Bromley (Western Suburbs), the father of current Athletics NSW President Peter Bromley, claimed the title in a time of 55:55. Held at Randwick Racecourse Bromley beat visiting Victorian 10mile champion E Evans.


David Tarbotton and Ron Bendall for Athletics NSW

Image  Action from 2015 un the under-18 boys at the NSW XC held at West Dapto   (Image courtesy of David Tarbotton)




Number of views (3362)/Comments (0)

E-News archives
E-news sign-up

Stay up to date with the latest news

* indicates required
News Archive