Select State
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
News Wrap up: AUS XC team, ACT Champs and Adelaide Track Classic

News Wrap up: AUS XC team, ACT Champs and Adelaide Track Classic

Author: Athletics NSW Administrator/Monday, 23 February 2015/Categories: News

22 February 2015


News Wrap up: AUS XC team, ACT Champs and Adelaide Track Classic


Adelaide Track Classic

NSW Sprinters were in good form at the Adelaide Track Classic on Saturday night. In very hot conditions, the NSW open men’s 4x100m team clocked 40.17 to win from Queensland 40.27. The NSW team comprised Rohan Browning, Ben Jaworski, Jin Su Jung and Isaac Ntiamoah. The depth of NSW sprinting is highlighted by the fact that national leader, Josh Clarke (SYU) and the full Commonwealth team of NSW athletes (Jake Hammond, Tim Leathart, Nick Hough and Jarrod Geddes) were not in the Adelaide team. It auger well for NSW sprinting and the 100m championships next weekend.

Dani Samuels (WES) led a high standard discus event, reaching 65.20m in round four and all five valid throws over 62.61m. The entire field joined her over 50 metres with former national champion Alix Kennedy (SYU) fourth with 52.59m.

In the pole vault, inform teenager Angus Armstrong (ASW) equalled his pb of 5.25m to finish equal first.

There was another quick 100m by schoolboy Rohan Browning (TRI), who is just 17, placing third in the 100m in 10.48. Another solid 800m by Jared West (SYP) running 1:47.78, close to his recent pb of 1:46.90.

Central Coast Tyler Jones (MIN) recorded a personal best and his second IAAF World Youth qualifier in the 10km walk, with a time of 44:08. Also in the open walk on Sunday morning, London Olympian, Beki Lee (NEP) was in second place in a time of 1:34.35 – her second fastest ever time.

Other performances of note:

  • Following on from his impressive 5000m last weekend, Bryce Coles-Sinclair (ILL) was second in the 3000m in 8:16.78.

  • Eloise Wellings (SUT) was competitive with second in the 3000m in 9:04.22

  • NSW 4x400m team of women Ally Bartholomew, Alicia Keir, Alison McAvoy and Molly Blakey, ran a good time of 3:42.83 for third place.


ACT Championships

NSW Paralympic medalists, Rosemary Little (HIL) and Angie Ballard (SYU) dominated the para events winning four titles and recording five ‘A’ & 2 ‘B’ qualifiers for the IPC world Championships. Little achieved A marks in 200 (33.81) and 800m (2:06.13), while Ballard achieved them in: 100m (17.39), 400m (57.07) and 800m (1:53.35).

There were more para qualifiers in the ambulant events with Carly Salmon (WAG) running an ‘A’ 200m qualifier of 34.67 and ‘B’ in the 100m (17.12). Erin Cleaver (MQH) record two ‘B’ quals in the 100m and long jump, while Sutherland’s Sarah Walsh made a big breakthrough with three ‘B’ qualifiers in the long jump with a best of 4.71m.

Brandon Starc (PAR) cleared a good seasonal best of 2.24m, his fourth best ever leap. Training partner, Tay-Leiha Clark (ILL) resumed competition in good form clearing 1.75m in the high jump, just short of her second world youth qualifier (1.77m). In the long jump, she was very consistent with five of her jumps over 5.60m. It was topped by a windy 5.76m and legal 5.73. In the under-20 long jump, world junior representative Audrey Kyriacou (SOS) leapt 6.14m.  A third training partner, Alison Ruse (ILL) recorded the best triple jump of the day with a distance of 12.60m.


In form hurdler, Michelle Jenneke (SYU) turned her attention to the 100m, lowering her best to 11.82 in the heat then 11.76 in the final, as she took the scalps of specialist sprinters Hayley Butler (WES, third 11.88) and Elly Graf (SUT, fifth, 11.99). In the hurdles Jenneke ran 13.52 into a 2.5m/s wind. There was a great battle in the men’s hurdles between Sydney University club mates Nick Hough and Justin Merlino 13.74 to 13.81. For both athletes it was their sixth fastest time and second fastest this summer.


After missing his second world youth 100m qualifier with no wind ready recorded last Tuesday night at the Bankstown International, Jordan Shelley (CHE) safely secured the time with a win in the under-18 100m in 10.61 (-0.6). He was less fortunate in the 200m running 21.60 and missing his second qualifier of 21.55.


Commonwealth Games semi-finalist, Anneliese Rubie (SYU) pushed Lauren Wells (ACT) to the line with them recording 53.53 and 53.42 respectively.


Hayley Butler added to her 100m bronze with a silver in the 200m in 23.77, just outside her five year old 200m pb of 23.73.



Australian Cross Country Team Announced

Eight NSW athletes were selected in the Australian team for the IAAF world Cross country Championships to be held in late March in Chinese city of Guiyang.

The NSW athletes selected were:

Open men - 12km: James Nipperess (SYU), Harry Summers (RBH)

Junior men - 8km: Charlie Hunter (ASW), Morgan McDonald (RBH) 

Open women - 8km: Victoria Mitchell (RBH), Kate Spencer (SYU)

Junior women - 6km: Jessica Hull (BAN), Karlie Swanson



David Tarbotton and Ron Bendall for Athletics NSW

Image: Rosemary Little (image courtesy of David Tarbotton)



Number of views (2021)/Comments (0)

E-News archives
E-news sign-up

Stay up to date with the latest news

* indicates required
News Archive