Select State
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Interesting Facts – Australian All Schools Championships

Interesting Facts – Australian All Schools Championships

Author: Athletics NSW Administrator/Saturday, 29 November 2014/Categories: News

29 November 2014

Interesting Facts – Australian All Schools Championships

  • First championship was conducted in 1951 on Hobart Oval.

  • The second national schools championships were held in 1974 in Melbourne.

  • The 2014 Australian All Schools will be the 42nd edition.

  • 841 athletes competed in 2013, but this rises to 1222 in 2014.

  • State by state team sizes in 2014: NSW 229, Qld 212, Vic 176, SA 164, WA 92, ACT 89, Tas 51, NT 9.

  • Points score in 2013: NSW 787p, Qld 737p, Vic 633.5p, SA 403.5, WA 335.5p, ACT 279p, 273.5p, NT 51p.

  • This year will be fifth occasion Adelaide has hosted the event. It has previously been held in: 1978, 1983, 1989 and 2000.

  • The first occasion it was held in Adelaide (1978), the venue was the Olympic Sports Field at Kensington. The venue was originally a cricket venue (home ground for Don Bradman in the 1930s) but an athletics field from 1963 until the ‘90s. It has now reverted to a cricket venue.

  • Parnov sisters Vicky and Liz are joint U14 pole vault record holders at 3.50m, achieved in 2003 and 2006 respectively.

  • Three oldest meet records are:

    • 1977 – Michael Thomson (A) U18 3000m 8:23.2

    • 1979 – Kim Thorley (N) U16 long jump 6.48w

    • 1986 – Andrew Murphy (N) U18 triple jump 15.56w

  • Betty Cuthbert (N) won the U14 100 yards at the inaugural championships in 1951.

  • Athletic NSW employee, James Matthews (N) holds the U16 2000m steeplechase meet record with 5:55.06

  • Only one athlete holds more than two meet records: Matthew Denny (Q) three records U18 discus/hammer and U16 hammer.

  • World champions Jana Pittman (N) and Sally Pearson (nee McLellan) hold two meet records each.

  • Only one meet record is held by a foreigner - Leesa Lealisalance NZL U16 discus - when the meet was combined with the Pacific School Games.

  • Some of the sponsors of the meet have been: Olympic Tyres, Onitsuka Tiger, Coca-Cola, Comsteel, Sugar, Mars, SPC, Ansett Australia and IGA.

  • The 2013 venue, Townsville was the first occasion the meet has been held outside a capital city.

  • Venues for the meet have been: Melbourne 8, Sydney 7, Hobart 7, Brisbane 6, Adelaide 5, Perth 4, Canberra 4, Townsville 1

  • For the first occasion in 2014 Para events will be included.

  • The meet has occasionally been held in conjunction with the Pacific School Games

  • Some interesting competitors over the years:

    • Kerry O’Keefe (nee Arkins): NSW Little Athletics  CEO - 1983 gold U17 3000m walk

    • Matt Favier: AIS Director – 1981 gold U17 800m

    • Melissa Babbage: AA Board Director – 1982 silver U17 400m

    • Dolph Francis: AA team physio – 1984 gold U19 110m hurdles

    • Simon Hollingsworth: ASC CEO – 1988 gold U19 400m hurdles

    • Melinda Gainsford-Taylor: AA Selector – 1988 gold U19 100m

    • Kathy Watt: Olympic cyclist – 1978 silver U15 400m

    • Anthony Koutoufides: leading AFL player – 1989 gold U17 110m hurdles

    • Mary Fien: NSW official – 1989 silver U19 3000m

    • Kim Crow: World rowing champion and Olympic silver medallist – 2001 gold U18 400m hurdles

    • Felicity Abram: World junior triathlon champion – 2001 gold U18 3000m




      Social media forums during the 2014 Australia All Schools Championships


      @NSWAthletics and @AthsAust







      NSW Athletes –

      Australian Athletes -




      David Tarbotton and Ron Bendall for Athletics NSW

      Image:   NSW at past NSW All Schools: Nick Hough, Steven Solomon, William McNamara, Sam Martyn, Emanuele Fuamatu, Laura Turner, Justin Merlino, Christie Chamberlain, Paul Stickler, James Matthews, Jenny Blundell, Chloe Tighe, Sally Fitzgibbons, Clinton Mackevicius, Craig Wood, Julien Wicks, James Nipperess & Ryan Gregson (Images courtesy of David Tarbotton)    


Number of views (5240)/Comments (0)

E-News archives
E-news sign-up

Stay up to date with the latest news

* indicates required
News Archive