Select State
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Ten outstanding NSW athletes, coaches and administrators honoured

Ten outstanding NSW athletes, coaches and administrators honoured

Author: Athletics NSW Administrator/Monday, 24 November 2014/Categories: News

24 November 2014

Ten outstanding NSW athletes, coaches and administrators honoured


Ten of NSW’s greatest athletes, coaches and administrators were recently honoured in various arenas. The outstanding group have reached the highest levels in our sport and contributed decades of service to the athletics. They were honoured in the Sydney Olympic Park Athletic Centre’s Path of Champions and at Athletics Australia’s annual awards and AGM.



On Tuesday evening at the Sydney Olympic Park Aquatic Centre, five athletes were inducted into the Athletic Centre’s, Path of champions. Since the original inductees in 1994, just one has been inducted, Jana Pittman. On Tuesday night the inductees were:

  • Louise Sauvage

  • Amy Winters

  • Evan O’Hanlon

  • Kurt Fearnley

  • Dani Samuels

Read profiles of the inductees and other information about the Path of Champions.



On Thursday evening Athletics Australia held their annual awards dinner and two NSW athletes received awards. Commonwealth Games gold medallists, Dani Samuels and Angie Ballard were honoured. They were awarded:

  • Female Para-Athletes of the Year Angela Ballard

  • Eurosport Athlete of the Year, for the best performance on the IAAF Diamond League: Dani Samuels

Read more about the awards event: Athletes of the year



Three of the four inductees into the Athletics Australia hall of fame were NSW athletes. Athletes, Darren Clark and Jenny Lamy, were joined by athlete and coach Louise Sauvage. Read more about the inductees at: Hall of fame.



Athlete and coach, Peter Lawler along with coach and journalist, Mike Hurst, were awarded Athletics Australia life membership. Both have been tireless servants for the sport for over four decades. Read an Athletics NSW article about Peter Lawler from 2011.


David Tarbotton and Ron Bendall for Athletics NSW

Image: The 10 NSW athletes/administrators/coaches honoured (courtesy of David Tarbotton



Number of views (2924)/Comments (0)

E-News archives
E-news sign-up

Stay up to date with the latest news

* indicates required
News Archive