Select State
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
47-year record for UTS Norths at NSW XCC Short Course

47-year record for UTS Norths at NSW XCC Short Course

Author: Athletics NSW Administrator/Monday, 3 July 2017/Categories: News

2 July 2017

47-year record for UTS Norths at NSW Short Course XC

In 2016, after 65 years of attempts, UTS Norths claimed their inaugural NSW State cross country relay title. Today at Rydalmere, Ed Goddard helped UTS continued their recent feats, by winning the 103rd short course cross country, just their fourth individual win and first since 1970.

Over the last 100 years of winter cross country and road running in NSW, the dominate clubs have been Western Suburbs, Randwick Botany, St George and Eastern Suburbs and in recent years Sydney University. But UTS Norths, formerly Northern Suburbs, are threatening to join that elite group Until these championships, they had won three titles, 1965, 1967 and 1970. The two former titles by track star Laurie Toogood and the later by marathon and road running star and first City to Surf winner, John Farrington. Today, Ed Goddard led UTS Norths to not only win their first men’s title in 47 years, but a clean swept of the podium.

After a solid run on Saturday in the 10km at the Gold Coast, Ed Goddard travelled back to Sydney to take his inaugural state open title in 23:41 for the 7.5km course. He led home team mates Matthew Cox and Jack Stapleton.

In fifth was, Sydney Uni’s Russell Dessaix-Chin, a three-time NSW cross country champion, who continued his return from a serious bicycle accident.

The winner of the women’s race was Angela Leadbeatter, who seems to pace herself between wins. In 2000 she won the state open cross country title and this short course cross country event in 2007 – 10 years ago. She clocked 28:02 for the 7.5km course.

Leadbeatter defeated Sydney Uni’s Melinda Witchard (28:25) and Katelyn Simpson (28:40).

In the men’s teams battle, UTS Norths, missed a fourth member, with Sydney University taking the title with 38 points, ahead of Bankstown (70) and Athletics Easts (93).

Sydney University totally dominated the women’s team title with 15 points, comprising places first, third, fourth and seventh. Second team was Athletics Easts, 42 points and Bankstown, 70 points.

David Tarbotton and Ron Bendall for Athletics NSW

Image: Matt Cox, Ed Goddard and Jack Stapleton of UTS Norths - men’s medallists (image courtesy of Daniel Laus)


Number of views (2148)/Comments (0)

E-News archives
E-news sign-up

Stay up to date with the latest news

* indicates required
News Archive