Select State
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web

1962 Perth Commonwealth Games opened on this

Author: Athletics NSW Administrator/Thursday, 22 November 2012/Categories: News

22 November 2012

1962 Perth Commonwealth Games opened on this

Fifty years ago today, the VII Commonwealth Games were opened in Perth. The ceremony was held at Perry Lakes Stadium, built for the Games as the athletics venue. At 3.15pm the opening commenced in the presence of Prince Philip. The bulk of the ceremony was a march past of participating teams,



For the athletics competition, 22 NSW officials received appointments.

The NSW officials included:

-Ray White (marathon timekeeper), the father and grandfather of current NSW officials Ian and Janet.

-Clive Lee (Chief Arena Marshall), long time Athletics NSW CEO

-Harold Ralph (Marathon Controller), long time leading Aths NSW official (see image: far right, front row)

-Flo Wrighter (Field Event Recorder), NSW Women?s AAA Secretary

Others were: George Soper, J Howlin, W Treloar, Zora Fibbins, Nell Gould and Doris Magee.



-1041 competitors from 30 countries

-AUS topped the medal tally 38 Gold, 36 Silver, 31 Bronze, 105 Total, ahead of England 29-22-27=78.

-various accommodation options available were: camping and caravanning, floating hotel ? Dutch Liner in Fremantle harbour and Rottnest Island hotel flying by plane each day to Perth.

-The first British Empire and Commonwealth Paraplegic Games were held Nov 11-17



-an official was the great Jamaican sprinter Herb McKenley

-Countries were allowed four competitors per event.

-Perry Lakes had a seating capacity of 38,000

-the duration of the athletics competition was four days, held on the 3rd, 4th, 7th, 9th.

The competition was on a cinders track, similar to the 1956 Melbourne Olympics.


David Tarbotton and Ron Bendall for Athletics NSW

Image: Some of the 1962 Commonwealth Games officials ? far right, front row Harold Ralph


Number of views (2467)/Comments (0)

E-News archives
E-news sign-up

Stay up to date with the latest news

* indicates required
News Archive